Board of Trustees Skip to main content

Board of Trustees

In accordance with the laws of the Commonwealth and regulations enacted by the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education, the composition, duties and powers of the Salem State University Board of Trustees are articulated within the university's bylaws. The board is charged with the fiduciary management of the institution, including determination of fees, establishment of personnel management policy, staff services, and the general business of the institution. Among its responsibilities, the board elects the president with the approval of the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education, adopts an annual plan of financial operation, awards degrees in approved fields, and develops the mission statement for the university consistent with the mission of the Commonwealth's system of public higher education.

The board of trustees consists of 11 voting members. Ten members are appointed by the governor, at least two are alumni of the university and one of whom is elected thereto by the university alumni association.  Elected alumni members shall be elected every five years. Members are appointed to serve for five year terms, but no member shall be appointed for more than two consecutive terms. Student members are elected by the student body and serve one year.

Regular meetings of the full board are held four times annually and are open to the public with the exception of executive sessions. Committees of the board convene prior to each open meeting and on an as-needed basis. The board currently has five standing committees: executive, academic affairs and student life, risk management and audit, finance and facilities, institutional advancement, marketing and communications. Meetings usually take place on the Salem State University campus.

Contact the trustees.

Trustee Information for FY2018

  • Members of the Board of Trustees

    Members of the Salem State University Board of Trustees are:  

    • Teresa J. Chisholm
    • Mary DeSimone ’76 
    • Andrew Duperval, student trustee
    • Elliot Katzman '78
    • Rob Lutts
    • Paul Mattera, chair
    • Kathleen Murphy '75
    • Pamela C. Scott
    • Jacob S. Segal
  • Trustee Board Meeting Dates and Agendas

    All regular meetings held in the Paul Petrowski Conference Room (room 210) of Marsh Hall, Central Campus unless otherwise noted.

    Full Board of Trustees Meetings
    (Board meetings start at 5 pm unless otherwise noted)

    • Wednesday, October 11, 2017

    • Wednesday, November 29, 2017—TBD

    • Wednesday, February 7, 2018

    • Wednesday, April 11, 2018

    • Wednesday, June 6, 2018

    Committee Meetings
    (Committee meetings start at 3 pm unless otherwise noted)

    • Wednesday, September, 27, 2017

    • Wednesday, October 2018 (Risk Management and Audit Committee only)—Date TBD

    • Wednesday, January 24, 2018

    • Wednesday, March 28, 2018

    • Wednesday, May 23, 2018

    Other Meetings

    • Off-site – Monday, December 8, 2017, 8:30 am – 4 pm, location TBD

    • Tuesday, October 2018 Student Government Association—Date TBD

    • Tuesday, March 2019 Student Government Association (if necessary)—Date TBD

  • Trustee Board Documents

    By-laws [PDF] of the Board of Trustees

    Minutes of the meetings of the Salem State University Board of Trustees for the current year may be found here. Policies and other such information are located on the university's records page.


    Public record requests should be sent to John Keenan, general counsel and vice president for administration, at John Keenan is also the designated records access officer (RAO) for Salem State University.

  • Board of Overseers

    The Board of Overseers of Salem State University is an advisory body, comprised of alumni and friends, who are committed to assisting the president and the university in a wide range of activities that will support and advance Salem State as the leading teaching public university in the region.

    Overseers act as informed advisors to the president and university administration on issues of strategic importance through their active membership. Overseers serve as a university resource by sharing leadership skills and professional expertise, and by encouraging financial support to the university. Overseers also act as ambassadors to promote the interests of the university regionally, nationally and worldwide.


    Members of the Salem State University Board of Overseers are:  

      • Felix Amsler '87
      • Karen E. Andreas
      • John C. Archer
      • Kathleen L. Atkinson
      • Dr. Richard C. Bane ’11H
      • Wade Boylan '95
      • Arthur Broadhurst '88
      • Stanley P. Cahill
      • Stuart A. Cohen
      • Gayle McEachern Colinet
      • Magnolia A. Contreras
      • Joseph C. Correnti
      • Katherine M. Curley-Katzman ’06
      • Lucy Dearborn '92
      • Henry S. Dembowski ’60, ’62G
      • Robert D. Ellison ’92
      • Joanne M. Fortunato ’84
      • Herbert A. Fox
      • Paul Fuller ’97
      • Francois G. Gadenne
      • Kathleen T. Gardner ’82
      • Joseph G. Gauvain ’61
      • Michael Goldstein ’92
      • Dolores R. Gormley ’84
      • Rose M. Grant ’94
      • Andrea Gregory
      • Joseph P. Haggerty ’02
      • Cynthia Hatch-Belhumeur
      • Donald W. Hunt ’79
      • Geoffrey P. Hunt
      • Holly J. Jannell
      • Nicole L. Kieser
      • Claude G. Lancome
      • Dr. Diane R. Lapkin
      • Andrea C. Liftman ’75G
      • John H. Lindahl
      • Wayne P. Marquis ’75
      • Peter J. Martel ’77
      • Owen Mathieu '01H
      • Brian J. McNamara ’77
      • John D. Migliozzi ’80
      • Pamela M. Nottingham ’80, ’87G
      • Nancy H. Palmer
      • John C. Pastore Jr. ’94
      • Stacy A. Phelan ’91, ’10G
      • John F. Piazza ’84
      • Todd Provost '86
      • Marcel Quiroga
      • Katherine E. Reid
      • Karen L. Roberts ’78
      • Ruthanne Russell '82
      • Phyllis K. Sagan
      • Steven Salvo '74
      • Julie M. Shea ’76
      • Ryan L. Shefferman ’02
      • Timothy J. Siefken ’13
      • Nancy H. Stager
      • Deborah Tatelman
      • Robert F. Thibodeau ’79, ’14G
      • Susan U. Vatalaro ’71, ’78G, ’91G
      • Brian V. Vinagro ’97
      • Howard J. Wayne
      • Wayne E. Webster ’74
      • Michael R. Wheeler
      • Joel R. Whitman
      • Elaine A. Zetes ’88G
    Back to top